What I've been up to lately…

My favorite place on earth: CW Part 1

Here it is…the long awaited and anticipated Wulamat vacation photos! At least long awaited and anticipated for a few people out there. I’m still going to make them wait for more while doing a multi-part blog about it. But here’s the start. I wanted to give the rest of the people out there an idea of this place we all love and look forward to every summer. Camp Wulamat. So a little background…

Camp Wulamat, (pronounced Wah-lah-met with the emphasis on the lah), has been around now since about 1927. Long story short, it was once a boys camp that was turned into a family camp. It’s 28 small wooden cabins, most of which do not have ovens or hot water and all named after rivers and mountains around NH. It’s the type of place where everyone knows each other. The same people rent the same cabins on the same weeks of every summer.

My own family’s story of Camp Wulamat is a very cool one. Around June 25, 1949 my grandparents, James and Shirley Finn, needed a place to stay on their honeymoon. That’s when they discovered Camp Wulamat where they were given a cabin named ‘Director’ right on the shore. Years later, in 1956 they rediscovered Wulamat through some family friends. Flash forward to 2011 and my mother hasn’t missed a summer in 55 years. My own streak is only a measly 31 years. The kicker is that we even still stay in the same cabin, Director.

It’s a very rare place these days. It’s a place that means more to the people that go every summer than I can describe. So instead of me rambling on any more in my long winded intro, back to the photos.

This blog post, and the next few, is my way of documenting the story of Camp Wulamat.

Our cabin for the second week that we stay at Camp Wulamat. Some people would kill for a second week, let alone one.

Our view from the porch:

Profile, another one of the many cabins that my extended family takes up:

The Rec Hall, filled with old photos, memorabilia from the boys camp days, 4th grader essays on Wulamat (which this now feels like), and photos of campers who’ve gotten married here (including two good friends of mine):

The Main Lodge, where the folks that run the place stay for the summer, including Mr. Pena and the B-Boys:

The Store, which is the highlight of the day for every kid in the camp. Opens at 3:00 every afternoon selling candy, ice cream and sodas. Believe it or not, when I was a kid this used to also open at 10 am, selling the same things:

A view from the sun-house. My name is still carved somewhere on one of these chairs:

A few others from the beach:

So that’s the scenery of Camp Wulamat. I used a little bit of a different style with these shots this year, trying to top the hundreds of photos I get every year. This post will be followed up with some people/family, the big dance and bingo, and a trip over to Sculptured Rocks.

Hope you enjoy. For the rest of this album, click HERE.

If interested in any prints, just let me know.

CW Part 2: My Family

CW Part 3: Nolan Family

CW Part 4: Dance/Bingo

CW Part 5: Sculptured Rocks

More to come…

-PJ

10 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Love the HDR effect PJ! Amazing shots man. The second to last (the dock) is by far my favorite. Great stuff!

    August 10, 2011 at 7:44 am

  2. Mom

    These are fantastic. I read the story and it brought a tear to my eye. I think this will help to explain to people we feel about this place. It is absolutely fantastic. I would like to make it into a book.

    Keep up the great work.

    August 10, 2011 at 7:46 am

  3. Shannon

    Love the pics PJ. So beautiful! I especially love our little profile!

    August 10, 2011 at 7:53 am

  4. Anonymous

    The “Anonymous” was me – Didn’t realize I wasn’t logged in.

    August 10, 2011 at 7:53 am

  5. sheri lachance

    Hi PJ. Your pics are amazing! I missed camp so much this year and I almost cried while looking at them. It will be a great way to share the meaning of camp with my hubby who has never been there. Hopefully Andrew, myself, and Liam (my step son) will see you next year!

    August 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • PJL

      Glad you like em Sheri! Long time no see! We missed you at camp, but it looks like you’re doing great. See you next year!

      August 10, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  6. Anonymous

    Dear PJ,
    I love your photos, especially of Director, which has been our cabin for over 30 years… I didn’t know that you were a photographer. The photos are wonderful as is “Camp”. See you soon.
    Mrs. Graichen

    June 22, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    • PJL

      Thanks Mrs. G. I’m no professional, just do it for fun. If you wanted any prints, email me at pj.londergan@gmail.com and I can give you access to the whole album.

      June 25, 2012 at 8:03 am

  7. Patricia weymouth Paine

    MY family and I went there for years my brother worked there one summer when we arrived Mrs B would have BLUE HAWAI playing over the microphone, there was a float to swim out to , my father built an aquaplane and took many children out on it , the dances were fun and the beauty of the place remains in my heart it was our happiest time also , at the beginning we had iceboxes outside I,m glad you are sharing this in this chaotic world we live in cheers Pat

    April 4, 2014 at 11:26 am

    • PJL

      Thanks for sharing Pat!

      April 4, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Leave a Reply

